BCCI Threatening players to take part in KPL T20 2021

BCCI Threatening players to take part in Kashmir Premier League 2021 which is due going to start on Friday 06 August.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India did not sit well with former South Africa cricketer Herschelle Gibbs. His anger was directed at the BCCI, one of the richest cricket boards in the world, for threatening him about his participation in the upcoming Kashmir Premier League.

Muzaffarabad is set to host the star-studded tournament on Friday, August 6.

Trending in KPL 2021 🔥

KPL 2021 Players List & Squad Composition Read More

BCCI Threatening players to take part in Kashmir Premier League

Among the six teams participating in this tournament are Gibbs along with Tilakaratne Dilshan, a former Sri Lankan cricketer. He was disappointed to learn that the BCCI was threatening to bar him from participating in the KPL T20.

BCCI Threatening players

In a tweet, he said,

“Completely unnecessary of the @BCCI to bring their political agenda with Pakistan into the equation and trying to prevent me playing in the @kpl_20. Also threatening me saying they won’t allow me entry into India for any cricket related work. Ludicrous.”

In a recent statement, former Pakistan cricketer Rashid Latif has also said the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has forwarded a warning against allowing overseas players from other cricket boards to participate in Kashmir Premier League (KPL).

Taking to Twitter, he wrote,

 “The @BCCI warning cricket boards that if their former players took part in Kashmir Premier League, they won’t be allowed entry in India or allowed to work in Indian cricket at any level or in any capacity. Gibbs, Dilshan, @MontyPanesar & several others have been selected in KPL.”

Six teams are taking part in the tournament: Overseas Warriors, Muzaffarabad Tigers, Rawalakot Hawks, Bagh Stallions, Mirpur Royals, and Kotli Lions. Captains of their respective teams are Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi, Shadab Khan, Shoaib Malik, and Kamran Akmal.

Also Read: KPL T20 Full Teams & Squads

Kashmiri players will make up five of each team. KPL was launched by Shehryar Khan, the chair of the Parliamentary Special Committee on Kashmir, in December 2020. The chief patron of the tournament is Masood Khan, President of the Azad Kashmir State.

Founders Akram and Afridi are former Pakistan bowlers Akram and Afridi respectively. Approximately 18,000 spectators can watch the matches at the Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium.

There were six teams participating in the KPL, including four former England players, former Sri Lankan captain Tillakaratne Dilshan and ex-South African Herschelle Gibbs. Matt Prior, Monty Panesar, Phil Mustard, and Owais Shah are the four English cricketers.

As a result of this development, KPL has confirmed the news.

“BCCI had asked Cricket South Africa (CSA) and England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) to stop their former players from participating in the league. Both boards have agreed to BCCI’s demand. Therefore, local cricketers will now replace foreign cricketers in the league,”

Spread the love